Compare the advantages and disadvantages of requiring college freshman to complete at least a year of college classes before selecting a major versus having them choose right away. Use specific reasons and examples to support your answer.

There is a huge debate about delaying freshman to commit their major immediately. Some argue that the requirement will waste the student time, therefore, waste their money. In the contrary, the freshman who spent at least a year before choosing their major, have a less regret thus they usually have a better score. I personally believe that the latter is more suitable for me because of several advantages and disadvantages that I would like to compare in this essay.

In one hand, requiring freshmen to choose their major immediately will benefit them immeasurably. First, they most likely spent less money for the college fee. Since they will able to finish all the required subject and credit earlier, they will most likely to save at least one-semester tuition. Second, for freshmen who already know exactly what major they would like to pursue, started the major faster will give them more time to finish their research and started their internship. It is a fact that year-end thesis could be time and money consuming. The students who started their research immediately, most likely produce more high quality, higher impact with a deeper understanding in their year-end thesis. Not only the thesis would be able to disseminate in the prestigious scientific journal, but also they could gain a research funding for additional income. This will happen if they give substantial time in the field instead of wasting it in a year college class.

In the other hand, freshmen who spent at least one year before started their major will have several advantages. They will be able to adjust to university life before take-on a bigger responsibility. From my experience, a transition from a high school to a university could be very overwhelming. I confused about the study plan, how to chose the book to read, and how to write an undergraduate level essay. This will resolve by spending more time in university life before started the major.

In addition, the one-year college classes also prepare me to fulfil my compulsory subject before I started my major. Take for example; student must have prerequisite knowledge in advanced math before they can pursue public health major. The math is very important to support the epidemiology subject which is a capstone in public health. The one year time also give the freshman to make up their mind about their major, they will able to research more before committing to one.

Ultimately, because they are well informed before choose the major; they will likely finish the education with flying color.

In conclusion, the requirement of taking college classes at least a year have advantages and disadvantageous. With all the things considered, I prefer to have at least one year before committed to my major since I believe the requirement will benefit me the most.