Do you agree or disagree with the following statement After high school students should have at least one year to work or travel It 039 s better than attending university straight away

It's been a matter of debate for a while whether students should take one year to work or travel before getting into university. Some people believe that doing so will give students time to refresh and come back to study with new experiences and vigor. However, I don't quite agree with this point of view. Rather, I believe that students should directly go to university for the following three reasons.

To begin with, if students take a break from study for one year, there will be an interruption in the flow of study. The student will, later on, find it difficult to get back to the track smoothly. Because they will forget so many things just before getting into university. So they will have to learn or revise them again which might be a bit stressful.

Secondly, as far as work is concerned, students will always get good jobs once they finish their undergraduate studies. So, there is no need to work at such an early age for some extra income. Rather, this young age is best for learning new things and using all energy and enthusiasm into research and study. Even if the students want some hands-on experiences before getting into the job after graduation, they can always do that during their undergraduate program. Almost all universities arrange internship programs for undergraduate students. From this, they can learn from industry which is even more meaningful as they get to apply what they learn in study. And for travel, it is always possible to go on tour even during undergraduate life. For example, during my undergraduate, I visited lots of places after semester final exams.

Lastly, if students take one year gap from the study, they will lag behind their peers. When they enter into the job, their friends would have one more year of experience by that time. Also, delayed graduation means getting into the job at a delay. So, if they are supposed to support their families, this delay will affect their family life as well.

To conclude, although there might be some upsides of taking break from study, the downsides of doing so simply outweigh the good ones. That's why I would recommend not to take a break.