Do you agree or disagree with the following statement? All jobs should provide some opportunity for physical exercise. Use specific reasons and examples to support your answer.

Majority of the companies expect their employees to work non-stop during office hours and only focus on reaping profits. This attitude has a long-term detrimental effect on the physical and mental health of their employees. Hence, I believe that all jobs should not only encourage physical exercise but also provide opportunities to their employees to take part in them for two reasons.

First, physical exercise is very important for people with sedentary jobs as well as jobs which entail physical labour. In the former case, studies have shown that people who remain seated for a long duration suffer from back pain, headache, and obesity more than people who have a physical job. In such case, regular exercise such as gym-training or yoga would alleviate pain and keep the employees fit. In the latter case, people who do physical labour need to exercise regularly to prevent injury such as sprain and strain at work. Hence in order to improve efficiency at work, companies should encourage exercise. This will prevent not only long-term ailments like heart diseases, obesity, and back pains but also onsite injury that can prove to be expensive.

Moreover, declining mental health is one of the biggest concerns of the 21st century. Employees who suffer from depression will have lack of motivation to work and they will not perform to their fullest potential. Physical activities such as aerobics and yoga have proven to have a calming effect on the mind. Regular physical activities organised by the company will provide grounds for employees to feel comfortable around each other and provide respite from work stress. Therefore, companies should organise physical activities for sound mental health of their employees to boost productivity.

In conclusion, since worker's productivity is directly proportional to their physical and mental health, I believe companies should provide some avenues for physical activity.