Do you agree or disagree with the following statement All students should be required to study art and music in secondary school Use specific reasons to support your answer

Together with the improvements in society, it seems rather ironic that subjects rather than science and mathematics should be taught in schools. Thus, the question has been raised as to whether it is compulsory for students to learn art and music in secondary schools or not. While it is undeniable that both arguments have their own merit to boast, if forced to choose one over another, my resolute standpoint is definitely in line with the students not necessary to study for art and music which I will explain the reasons in the following essay.

To begin with, teenagers should not learn about art and music in middle school because it is useless. To be specific, art and music have nothing to do with our life as the majority of the job today is all about technology and the modern world. Should students not study for art and music, they can focus more on the fundamental courses such as mathematics and science, which gives them more possibilities to achieve higher grades. I assume that a personal example can shed light on this notion. During my high school year in Malaysia which was about 3 years ago, I had to study art and music that I did not want to do which placed a huge burden on my shoulder during the revision week. Also, when I went to apply for the universities, most of the places specifically look for science and mathematic results. It is clear with this example that art and music are not necessary for all of the students to take.

Moreover, another reason that all students are not required to study art and music is that it is a waste of money for some families. If those courses are to be optional for students to study, then the family of that son and daughter can save money and use it for the future later. In fact, a survey conducted by an American secondary school shows that about 80% of the students would not choose to study for arts and music if it is not mandatory. Furthermore, when a reporter questioned a group of students, they claim that they do not need to study those subjects since it has nothing to do about their life. This clearly shows that not all students should take art and music in school.

In conclusion, I strongly believe that it is not essential for all students to attend art and music class because of, the reasons mentioned above. However, opinions may vary from people to people, but what does not change is that this topic is something that needs to be mentioned.