Do you agree or disagree with the following statement All university students should be required to take history courses no matter what their field of study is Use specific reasons and examples to support your answer

History is a legacy that our ancestors left for us and also what they left is a lot of learning. History presents a lesson in front of us, which teaches us what mistakes not to repeat and what approaches and values to inculcate in our everyday life. In my opinion, it should definitely be mandatory for the university students to study history courses irrespective of their field of study. I feel this way for two reasons, which I will explore in the following essay.

To begin with, learning about history is essential as we get to know how things used to function and how developments took place over the course of time. Moreover, this information helps us to understand what actions should be taken in today's world for the betterment of the society. For instance, I took a history class at my university which was about the Indian Independence struggle. The coursework included various reforms made by Mahatma Gandhi, a popular and renowned personality in the pre independence Indian era. The non-violence movement by Gandhi was an inspiration and helped me to deal with everyday situations. The way he protested was by silently sitting on the streets with banners and he never caused any physical damage to people or public property. A few years ago, we had to protest at our university as there was discrimination between boys and girls regarding hostel timings. I, along with my friends sat outside the dean's office with banners saying "End the discrimination, end our sorrows".This technique proved to be really effective ,we got the attention we required, and eventually our issue got resolved.

Moreover, studying history helps us to gain information about several wars that took place and how the leaders tried to ensure that everything came back to normal eventually. Leaders in ancient times organized meetings at different levels right from meetings with major generals at the bottom of the hierarchy to the sessions with high rank officials at the top of the hierarchy. This essential information has provided the modern world with the idea of social hierarchy. Countries all across the globe follow this structure in order to manage the overall functioning of the government. Whenever there are conflicts between countries over issues such as taxes on imports, the countries try to solve these problems by means of organized meetings with the concerned officials of the respective countries. In this way, the regions are saved from major damages caused by wars. If students learn about such concepts while at their universities, they will be able to prepare themselves for being future leaders.

To sum up, there is a lot information that is extremely essential to get an overall perspective of the society we live in and that cannot be aquired without studying history. Therefore, history courses should be necessary to study for the university students.