Do you agree or disagree with the following statement? All university students should be required to take history courses no matter what their field of study is. Use specific reasons and examples to support your answer.

University students have always been trying to take courses that are highly beneficial to them. However, some universities, regardless of individuals' fields of study, oblige students to take a number of general courses like history, geography, and art. Although some may agree that this is a good plan, I am of the opinion that this requirement can bring about abysmal problems for students and hinder their progress. The reasons to substantiate my mindset are attentively elaborated upon in the following essay.

To begin with, due to the complex and compact study plans that students have and the countless number of assignments and course projects that they should deal with, they do not have enough time and energy to fritter away on impractical courses like history. In fact, courses like history often require students to memorize a sequence of events, which consumes an ordinate amount of energy and is utterly a demanding task for students with analytical minds like engineering students. Additionally, the amount of time that an individual spends at university is limited and important for people to detect their realms of interest and try to shape their future career, so passing useless courses, students just waste their time and a once-in-a-lifetime opportunity to find the field they want to work on in the future.

Secondly, if students are not interested in a course that they are required to take, it is likely that they will be discouraged. More precisely, it is possible that some students do not like courses such as history or geography. As a result, making them take these courses not only does not provide any advantages but, conversely, may result in low grades, which can cause them depression and discouragement. My own experience is a compelling example of this. As an engineering student, I was required to pass two courses on general knowledge, in addition to five courses related to my major, in the first semester of my bachelor’s program. Although I got 100 in all five principal courses, I was not able to pass those two general courses, simply because I was not enthusiastic enough to have the incentive to study for them. Consequently, my GPA decreased and I was depressed.

Finally, there is no point in studying ancient lifestyles for students in various fields. To delineate, since the 20th century, with the advent of technology and particularly with the emergence of the internet, peoples' lifestyles have completely changed. Therefore, studying the history of our ancestors does not seem to be usable in this day and age.

In conclusion, taking the aforementioned points and example into account, I am a firm believer that not all students should be forced to take history classes. This is because it is advantageous for students to put their time into more practical subjects, they might not be passionate about history, and the history of ancient times does not offer any benefits for today’s modern world.