Do you agree or disagree with the following statement?

All university students should be required to take history courses no matter what their field of study is.

Use specific reasons and examples to support your answer.

Currently, there is a suggestion that all university should set a requirement for students in all fields to take history courses, which has been widely discussed by people in various stages. In my perspective, however, it is ridiculous for those universities to make such a decision and I will show my opinion in the following essay.

First of all, the history classes are not always useful to students in some field. For those who major in Science, their tasks or we say, the target of doing research is exploring the physical world and then exploiting the physics regulation. As I major in the Atmospheric Science, I aim at building a network, which leads to the retrieval of satellite observation, using numerous datasets from groud-based and space-based observing machine. It is really hard to say historical knowledge make any sense to my job. In case of this, though I've hardly paid attention to my history class since high school, I got an offer to top 3 school in my country.

On top of that, taking uneccesary courses will increase the stressness to students. As all of the students today are busy with their classes nearly everyday, spending all time doing homework or research and having little spare time. The history courses, which is useless to them, obviously take their spare time that was ought to used for relaxation. Take me as an example, I have 6 different required courses that have to be finished in one single year. As a result, I get up at 8:00 in the morning and sleep at 11:00 in the evening, devoting into the study. Even though I work so hard, I can finish my assignment just on time and get an average score. That's why I regard an extra meaningless class as a waste of my energy.

In conclusion, requiring all students to take history lessons is totally a waste of their time.