Do you agree or disagree with the following statement? Always telling the truth is the most important consideration in any relationship between people. Use specific reasons and examples to support your answer.

Many people argue that one should always remain truthful to other people in any relationship and they cite that telling truth prevent us from further lying to make things work. However, I disagree with their argument and believe that always telling truth is not the most important consideration in any relationship. I will support my viewpoint in the following paragraphs.

First of all, sometime we need occasional lying to make our loved one feel happy and good about themselves, and these moments can make a significant change in their lives. For example, whenever my friend get upset because of his poor performance in the competitions, I always tell him that he played best game to his potential and he could have easily taken the lead, if not some basic unfortunate things have happened. If i don’t lie and simply tell the truth that opponent was way ahead of his game and he had no chance in front of his skills, he would have probably left the game. In some cases, not telling truth, actually help and inspire other person to further push their limits. If lying occasionally makes a person’s life better, I can’t agree that we should always tell the truth in our relationship.

Secondly, often time we are in awkward situations, and if we remain true to our self, it can even cost the relationship and the there will be occasion to tell truth. For instance, once, one of my brother’s coworker, casually ask him about how is she looking. Not knowing that it is her birthday today, he simply told her that the dress does not look good on her and she could have wore something other, in front of their colleagues. This cause her coworker to feel bad about herself, and eventually, she stopped talking to him. Knowing that telling truth will cause him his friendship, he would have simply said that she is looking very pretty. In many cases, it become an absolute necessity to “lie” in order to keep certain relationship. Thus, I think that it is not always important to tell truth in a relationship.

To conclude, it is very complex to decide whether one should always consider telling truth in a relationship. Some people argue that even if certain relationship does not work, a person should always stick to telling the truth. Nonetheless, I still contend that always telling truth is not the most important things in a relationship.