Do you agree or disagree with the following statement? Because today's world is so busy and crowded, we should not expect people to be polite to one another.

Since the advent of human civilization, mutual respect has been intertwined in people’s lives. But since all aspects of societies have been influenced, so has social behaviour. Views differ when it comes to the issue of whether one should expect people to be polite to others in modern society or not. Some people have this opinion that life challenges pave the way for people to be impolite, while others think no one has the right to disrespect anyone by being rude or impolite. Well, I personally concur with the former opinion that people are more rude in the present world because they only care about their work and are too busy to behave in a polite manner.

First of all, nowadays, people care more about themselves and their work. Due to their busy schedules and workloads, people tend to be surly out of stress or anxiety. On the contrary, in the past, people had lots of time because they just had to raise their crops and feed cattle. In other words, they were involved in subsidiary agriculture, and as a result, they needed to cooperate with each other in order to sell or exchange their products and to ask for help increasing crop production. That’s why ancient people were more polite to each other, so as to have good cooperation and relationships.

Second, people working in firms aim to increase the efficiency of their work. They are profit-driven and only focus on how to make their workers work effectively. For this purpose, they need to guide them in a strict manner. Because if they act cool-tempered, no one under their assistance will listen to them or take them seriously. Take my boss, Fred, as an example; he likes to directly point out flaws in my work and is very strict about deadlines for projects. Even though sometimes this makes me frustrated, owing to his impassionate pressure, I am able to identify my true potential and work more efficiently before approaching deadlines.

To conclude, I support the argument that, in the current situation of society, people are prone to distress due to lots of arduous work as well as responsibilities. In order to complete these, people need to be a bit strict and impolite. Therefore, due to these factors, I don’t anticipate a calm and polite attitude from others.