Do you agree or disagree with the following statement Businesses should do anything they can to make a profit Use specific reasons and examples to support your position

No one can cast a shadow of doubt over the important role that money plays in human’s life. Most people desire to earn a lot of money, because they want to live comfortable and be able to supply their family’s necessities. Some individuals believe the more money they earn, the happier they will be. Thus, individuals as owners of companies attempt to increase their profit in some ways. I believe this is not a good idea if they do anything to increase the profit, because on one hand, it might neglect morality, and on the other hand, it might decrease the number of buyers. In the following paragraphs I will elaborate my reasons and bring some examples to shed light on my point of view.

One of the most important reasons why doing everything to enhance profit is not right is that morality may not be considered. Some companies may do anything to create wealth without thinking about consumers, which might not be ethically right. For instance, the owners of some pharmaceutical companies only think about how they can increase their profit. They do everything, either legal or illegal, to reach their desired profit. They may neglect morality and ethical principles by producing medicines and releasing them without doing sufficient pharmaceutical tests or providing real results to the FDA in order to get the approval sooner. This may result in side effects in patients and threatening their health.

The other equally important reason why doing everything to increase profit is not right is that it may backfire. If a company increases prices for its products, not only profit might not be enhanced, but also the number of buyers may decrease. For instance, Banana Republic is a popular store which has products with higher prices than Gap. Commonly, many people cannot afford the prices in Banana Republic, but when store administrator puts a large discount on their products, a lot of people decide to enter the store and buy their favorite products. As another example, Hugo BOSS has lower number of customers than Banana Republic due to the higher prices. Therefore, increasing the price of products might not always bring profit for the producer.

It is indisputable that sales managers can do some tricks to increase profit which may sometimes be associated with good and positive results. They can produce a second line of products which is related to the first product. For instance, a company that sales printers and scanners can also produce computer monitors. The consumer who comes to buy a computer monitor may decide to buy a printer as well.

To sum up, in spite of the advantage that is mentioned in the last paragraph, the cons outweigh the pros. Balance should be considered in everything. According to the aforementioned reasons, we can safely reach to the conclusion that doing everything in order to obtain more profit without considering the morality and the consumer’s budget is not a good idea at all.