Do you agree or disagree with the following statement Drivers have to pay a fee for driving in busy city streets when there is a great amount of traffic Use specific reasons and examples to support your opinion

Population in most of the cities around world have been increasing continuously and people suffer several problems such as heavy traffic. Governments and city administrations are searching ways to solve the traffic problem such as balancing the traffic by public transportation and building alternative roads. In my opinion, getting a fee from drivers, if they drive in a busy street during heavy traffic, can solve problems for following two reasons.

First, even if governments are applying some solutions on the crowded streets, the citizens do not benefit them when there is no restriction. However, when they are obliged to pay money to use specific streets, they will look for alternative solutions. For example, I know a few people in my city, who is not willing to use public transportation to go to their job. However, they also do not want to spend money for this purpose. A few years ago, during the economic crisis in my country, Greece, the price of gasoline increased %50 suddenly. After the dramatic increase, a few of them started to go to work by bus. If the roads used by them changes as pay to use, they can again leave to use the busy street as it became during crisis.

Second, this kind of change would not avoid people to do whatever they do but provides lots of benefits. Some of the benefits could be decrease in unnecessary use of car, which is also good for decreasing air pollution, and increase in income of governments or local administrations. For example, in my country a similar system is tried on a city, Lund, 2 years ago. The city had not been carrying the population and traffic was a serious problem. The city council decided to make some streets paid. With the new system, the traffic problem have almost completely solved. Some surveys which are done five year period, showed that the air quality have increased after the change because of less use of cars. Also, the city administration improved the city's public facilities by using the money made by the pay-to-use system.

As a conclusion, putting some financial burden on people lead them to use existing solutions. Also, this type of change leads some improvements such in air quality or income of government. For these reasons, drivers should pay money if they use a busy street when there is heavy traffic.