Do you agree or disagree with the following statement?

The extended family (grandparents, cousins, uncle, aunt) is less important than it was in past

There is a prevalent view that extended family is always prosperous for the growing children. Some people might feel that extended family was important in past while other may feel that it is now too important as before. In my personal opinion, I feel that the extended family is as important now as it was in past. I feel this way mainly for two reasons which I will examine in my essay.

First of all, The extended family helps to make children mature earlier. In the extended family the children grows with the people of different generation such as grandparent, uncle, parents, cousins etc, such grow up will be boon for the children as they can get the experience and advise from such range of people. Like being with grandparents can help them to become responsible, as grandparents will tell their story of being responsible in life at a very young age. Consequently, such stories might help children to be responsible at early age. For example, I used to live with my grandparents when I was at school. Everyday, I used to walk with my grandfather at evening, at which, he used to tell his childhood story. He used to tell me how losing father at young age made him to struggle . Such stories used to make me more motivated to become responsible. And I proudly can say that it eventually make me more responsible at young age. Had I did not live with my grandparents I would not have understood importance of being responsible at young age.

Secondly, I believe that it would make children well-mannered and respectful. When children live with the grandparents, than they would develop love for the old people and will learn to respect them. Evidently, Children living in nuclear family would not have the experience of old people and looks them with hatred. Further children of extended family knows the behavior of old people and do not get offended by the rude nature of old people, which is most likely to be obvious for children of nuclear family to get offended by such rude behavior. As a result, Livinig on extended family makes children more mannered. This can be exemplified by my own experience. Once there was the son of my boss who was grown up in a nuclear family. Once my boss and my family went to a trip. In the trip, our both children got to encountered with an old man in a street. the son of my boss got intimidated by the old man and his behavior and due to hatred to old people he started to hit old man with some pebbles. Nevertheless, my son who was grown with grandparents reacted in opposite way. Despite the old man being rude, He use his mental astuteness and experience with his grandparents and deal with him in respectful manner, which ultimately make the old man also to behave properly.

Finally, The extended family would improve the we-feeling among the family members. Living with members of different generations and sharing each others grims and sorrows would make the better bonds. The extended family would also improve the helping nature among the members.

In conclusion, I am of the opinion that extended family are as important today as it was before in past. This is because living with extended family makes people not only resposible but more mannered and respectful. Further it will improve we feeling among family members.