Do you agree or disagree with the following statement? The government should spend more money on improving access to the Internet than on public transportation.

It goes without saying that in such a sophisticated world where the technology is growing so fast that it could hardly be believed, having access to the internet is of great importance. A controversial question which is often raised regarding this idea is whether the government should spend more money on improving access to the internet than on public transportation. I personally contend that the former should be the section which the government appropriates more budget for. In what follows, I will delve into the most outstanding reasons.

The first exquisite point to be mentioned is that the internet has immense impacts on technology improvement. There is no doubt that what we see nowadays as developed public transportation system is a result of technology. As the time moves on, more and more information is uploaded to the internet. Scientists and engineers from all over the world can share their ideas and browse online to develop their conceptual framework, in this way knowledge generation is facilitated. It leads to designing more sophisticated and environment-friendly transportation system to serve humankind.

Another equally significant point is that the internet has been a bed for billions of e-oriented activities. People can exploit e-services of banks from their home and save their time. Moreover, there is no need to use their cars and it is a great way to prevent air pollution. Furthermore, the internet provides the opportunity that people use e-books, e-magazines and other stuff; so there is no more need to cut millions of trees to print these materials. In fact, the internet helps us to go green! So many conferences are held in different places and some people attend these events via the internet from thousands miles away. Those who work and are too busy to participate university courses, can use virtual classes and upgrade their degrees.

Finally, in addition to what was mentioned above, regarding recent technology advances, no one can deny effects of social networks on the society. By means of these networks people can keep in touch with their friends and family members whom may be thousands miles away from them. News and latest events spread all over the world just in a second. All of these have been available just because of the internet. Thanks to the internet, cellphones have turned into more than a device just for calling and texting. So many people use internet on their cellphones for navigation or online services such as ordering a taxi.

To make a long story short, contemplating all aforementioned reasons, one soon realizes that promoting access to the internet is an inevitable need of modern society in many ways. Therefore, authorities should put more emphasis on improving access to the internet. It is predicted that the internet will cause great breakthroughs which will definitely astonish everyone.