Do you agree or disagree with the following statement? Most businesspeople are motivated only by the desire for more money.

By and large, it is established beyond doubt that motivation plays an important role in everyone's life. Motivation can help people to continue and follow their dreams even after failure. Different factors can motivate people in their life. A controversial question which is often raised regarding this issue is that what may be the main motivation of a businessman. Some people contend that the desire for more money is the most prominent motivation. However, some others take an opposite standpoint and look at this concept through a different lens. From my vantage point, the latter belief is true. In the following paragraphs, I will delve into the most outstanding reasons.

First and foremost, everybody has an intrinsic tendency to show his abilities and to a greater extent to succeed. From psychological viewpoint, many people like to continue their projects and goals even if the possibility of failure is high. This is called irrational commitment and businesspeople are not excluded from this principle. Therefore, many of businessmen like to present their power of achieving what they want. The temptation of success is extremely strong and can be considered as one of the top motivations among a myriad of factors. By way of illustration, Bill Gates, the CEO of Microsoft company, has pointed out the desire to be successful as the main inner driving force in his career in spite of the fact that his company makes millions of dollar of profit per second. In a word, money cannot be the main motivation for businesspeople.

Another equally significant point is that the social prestige can be addressed as one of the main sources of inspiration. The respect and regard attained from the society make an individual work harder and try to be the best in his own field. In my own experience, when I was working in a company, I realized that the head office used to accept projects only from the notable companies since the CEO of the company was on the idea that this approach would be an advantage for the company's reputation. While smaller and less-known companies would pay more money for the same projects, the company had decided to place them in a lower priority. Therefore, based on one's conceptual framework, the main motivation in life or work can be something different from money.

Finally yet importantly, helping other people and self-satisfaction are considered as main motivations in a given career. Many businesspeople have an eager to give a hand to those who need financial or even technical help. This behavior will lead to a self-satisfaction feeling and serves as a strong driving force in their life. As a case in point, there is a body of economic research which I read recently. The researchers conducted an interview with businessmen who had more than 2 decades of experience in the market, the data denoted that a host of them mentioned self-satisfaction as their first priority and earning more money as the third one in their business. On balance, at least this finding can partly explain why having more money is not the main motivation among the businesspeople.

In conclusion, contemplating all aforementioned reasons one can soon realize that the desire for more money is not the only motivation among businessmen. The intrinsic eager of success, acquiring social prestige, and self-satisfaction are some of the main reasons which make me be inclined toward this point of view. However, it was a story in a nutshell. All in all, it is highly recommended that a survey be conducted in order to shed light on other factors which can motivate a businessman.