Do you agree or disagree with the following statement Governments should spend more money in support of the arts than in support of athletics such as state sponsored Olympic teams Use specific reasons and examples to support your answer

From the dawn of civilization, governments have always had a controversy about how they should distribute their budgets. In this regard, some people believe that allocating money to the arts is more significant than it is to support athletics. I have enough reasons to counter this viewpoint. I will enlarge on my reasons in following paragraphs.

First and foremost, there are several important competitions in sport fields such as Olympic. Being successful in them can make great pride for compatriots, while there is no competition in the art fields as well-known as those in sport fields. To put it in a more vivid picture, as Olympic Games draw a lot of attention, the sense of coming in first among a lot of nations can make people of a country more confident about their abilities. As a result, this confidence lets them do their duties as well as possible. Hence, huge progress can be made in that country, whereas being successful in the arts do not have so great effects that make all people of a country to feel in such a way. Since a few people have information about the arts events, people of a nation cannot reach the belief that they can overcome every problem.

Secondly, supporting athletics to receive awards in sport competitions like Olympic Games is a source of money for governments because the Olympic organizing committee allocates a great deal of money to those who come in first. On the other hand, by spending money on the arts, governments cannot make a big profit. I have to admit that my opinion on this matter is profoundly influenced by my own country experience. Our governments give such a substantial present from the Asian Football Confederation that helps them to balance their budgets. That prized award was given to our government since our national football team became the champion of the AFC Asian Cup last year. Consequently, should governments support athletics by spending more money in sport fields, they can earn a considerable amount of money.

To sum up, all things considered, I firmly believe that more money should be assigned to support of athletics than it should be allocated to support the arts. Given the fact that, great satisfaction can be derived and governments can increase their earnings, if they invest money in support of sport fields.