Do you agree or disagree with the following statement: grades encourage students to learn. Use specific reasons and examples to support your opinion.

Grades are considered the most reliable measurement of a student’s ability to study well at school. Some people have the thought that grades encourage students to learn. On the other hands, grades are regarded to have an opposite effect on students. I am of the latter opinion. I feel this way for two reasons, which I will explore in the following essay.

To begin with, getting high grades causes huge pressure for many students. Nowadays, many schools make the students undergo too many tests. This is because most parents see tests as the correct result of their children’s performance at school. However, a substantial number of exams dramatically pressurizes students. There isn’t just enough time for them to study and absorb all of the knowledge that they had learned. Some students, fortunately, cope well with pressure, that being said, many of them fall apart and feel extremely despondent because of the overwhelming pressure. My own experience is a good example to illustrate this. The freshman year of high school was really tough for me. I had to get used to taking numerous test. During some weeks, there were three tests of different subjects that I had to take every day. I had no choice but to spend a few all-nighters, which exhausted me and caused me not to concentrate in class in the next day, to prepare well for all the exams since I would get into trouble if I had bad grades. It took me a considerable of amount of time to familiarize myself with the extensive amount of tests.

Furthermore, students may develop the bad habit of cheating to get good grades. Lots of parents take good grades for granted and feel that it is their children’s responsibility to pass exams with flying colors. Instead of motivating their children when they have bad grades, parents often harshly criticize them and sometimes severely punish them because they feel ashamed in front of other parents whose children have higher grades. As a result, the children, in their desperate times, use inappropriate measures, such as cheating in exams or just memorizing the concept without fully understand it. Consequently, they will only have the moderate knowledge of the lessons and in addition, they won’t have the basics of subjects. For example, in my country, Vietnam, parents are strict about their children maintaining the good grades. Many students become very afraid when they have bad grades so they start to learn to cheat in the exams although they know that they will be severely punished if they get caught. Moreover, students begin to forget about the real meaning of learning is knowledge, not grades.

In conclusion, I strongly believe that grades are not a perfect encouragement for students to study. I hold this opinion because grades cause pressure for students and students will learn to cheat and other bad habits to get good grades. Students ought to regard knowledge, instead of high grades, as their goal to learn.