Do you agree or disagree with the following statement? Grades encourage students to learn. Use specific example and reasons to explain your opinion.

Learning is a lifelong process. Basic learning experience comes from school education. Schools education main purpose should be giving knowledge to students but today, students main concern became their grades rather than knowledge. In my opinion, grades force students to learn, but not encourage them. I will elaborate on my reasons in the ensuing paragraphs.

First, instead of giving priority to knowledge, all students are in the race of getting good grades. They know that only good grades can help them to get admission in top universities. After graduating from top universities chances of getting a job are higher. Sometimes students get depression because of the pressure of exam and low grades. Research done on the suicides causes and results concludes that most of them are students. Students attempt suicide because of the presser of not able to get good grades. I do not deny that marks make students study hard, but that is a kind of enforcement but not encouragement. Students study just because of the stress of future living conditions.

Second, students try to attempt to get excellent grades in an exam but sometimes they fail. In that case, they choose another way to attempt to good grades in the exam. For example, India has a big black market to get good grades in the exam. They have to pay money to achieve good scores. Additionally, students get so much unmotivated because of not able to get good scores. They start getting divert to bad influence such as taking drugs.

Lastly, all students have a different capability to learn things. All kid does not learn to write and read at the same age. Depending on that principle Montessori school provides education. These schools divide students’ classes not based on their age but based on their learning abilities. In this scenario, students can move to the next class when they have the required ability to learn next class. Further, it is not necessary that when a student gets a low score means that it is not qualified in that subject. For instance, when I was in high school I got to fail in my anatomy final exam, but I got the highest mark in my practical exam. It explains that I had a good knowledge of anatomy subject, but I was not able to perform well in my writing exam.

Let’s put in the nutshell, in life people do not need any grades to justify themselves. Students should be able to practically imply their knowledge that is the main reason for education. According to me, grades are not motivating students from learning.