Do you agree or disagree with the following statement? Grades encourage students to learn. Use specific reasons and examples to support your opinion.

Stimulating students to pursue their duties as a learner with their desire is superior to grades. In my opinion, the course score, whether high or low, is just a measurement to evaluate theoretical knowledge, not underlying comprehension. I feel this way for two reasons, which I explore in the following essay.

First of all, assessing in-depth learning with numbers is the worst way to exhibit what means study. Although the high score is the result of hard-working and makes parents happy, it does not demonstrate how much you are fluent in the taught material and how much is your ability to use the lesson learned in facing real problems. For instance, When I was in university, I had a friend who was called foolish by all professors because of his low scores. While nobody believes in his intelligence, he could find an excellent job with high salaries just one month after graduation. After that, we were close friends, and he said to me If I had cared for my scores, I would have lost my confidence, and I would not have acted well in my job interview.

Secondly, unsatisfactory results in one specific course cause students to lose their faith in their own and reduce their motivation in studying other courses. Some students that do what they can but do not achieve desirable results hate school. Therefore, bad effects of grades are more than their benefits. For instance, when I was in high school, No matter how hard I tried, I always got stuck in solving physics problems and I failed exams. As a result of that, I hated all mathematics courses, and I pursued my studies as an MSc student in geology, which it has not any relation with calculations.

In conclusion, Not only do I strongly believe that point can not be an incentive for students, but I also feel that grades decrease the value of real understanding and make student impassionate.