Do you agree or disagree with the following statement?

It is better to take risks and explore new things when you are older rather than when you are younger.

Use specific reasons and examples to support your answer.

Being adventurous is human nature but might not suit people of different ages the same. I believe that older people are more suited for taking risks and exploring new things.

First, older people's experience enables them to explore new things safely. Living more years gives older people more opportunities to face emergent situations and hence practice how to tackle such emergencies wisely. Although this is not to say that younger people are incapable of doing so, they lack the sophistication when dealing with these problems, especially ones that will put them in grave danger. For example, while sophisticated people might remain calm and not provoke wildlife during exploration trips in the backcountry, younger people might react aggressively, endangering the beast and themselves. Some of the encounters can be life-threatening, especially when dangerous animals, such as grizzly bears, are involved, putting younger people at higher risks than older people with more experience.

Second, older people can afford the expenses and the time needed for adventures. Typically, risky explorations involve buying expensive equipment and paying for costly transportation. And such journeys can take weeks or even months. But most young people are either students or full-time employees who lack the time and money to carry out their adventures. So, doing these can create much burden on their already stressful lives. Comparatively, older people have most likely saved up a considerable amount of money during their career or, sometimes, are on pensions. So, they can afford expensive trips to far-away places where most explorations end up. And if they are retired, they would also have almost unlimited holidays to do things that would take a long time. Therefore, risky explorations are less of a burden on them than younger people.

To conclude, living longer offers older people the experience to adventure safely and allows them to have the money and leisure to do so.