Do you agree or disagree with the following statement? It is better to use printed material such as books and articles to do research than it is to use the internet. Use specific reasons and examples to support your answer

Education and Research have been transformed by the widespread use of Internet, more so in the recent years.

I believe the use of internet in research is better than the use of print material such as books, for reasons I will explore in the essay.

Firstly, for good quality research, an essential requirement is that the sources are genuine and up to date. It is easy to find recent journals and articles on the web, most of these for free, while the same may require membership or separate purchase if you try to obtain print material. As a result with the use of the internet, You have access to more number of sources, thus improving your knowledge and quality of the research. For example, I have my own experience when I was doing a research paper on changing treatment protocols for certain diseases, when I looked into print material from my library, I found that most of the journals were at least 1year or older, and very few libraries in my area had recent journals. I looked into buying the journals on my own and when I enquired about the price, I realized that it would be difficult for me to buy all the journals I needed. I searched the same books online, and I found a website that offers up to date journals on all topics, at a minimal membership fee.

For research, the Internet can give you specific information. On the internet, you can search a topic, and get information from multiple sources. It is easy to filter the information and go through your topic of interest and ignore the rest of the content, while it is difficult to do so in print material. Even when you use the Index, it can be misleading to topics that are far from your research topic. This can slow down your progress and hamper your productivity.

In conclusion, I feel the use of the internet for research is better than books as this is convenient, affordable easy to access and gives you in-depth knowledge of the specific topic of interest.