Do you agree or disagree with the following statement? It is impossible to always be honest with your friends.

From a general perspective, friendship is the most important among all individuals' relationships, so accordingly they have to have dos and don'ts list in their communication for the sake of keeping a good relationship. One of the biggest controversies related to friendship is that whether or not friends must be completely honest, or in more detail, they can always be fully honest or not?

As far as I am concerned, being unconditionally honest is an unreasonable behavior among friends. The reasons make me think so are as follows. In first place, it is true that honesty is one of the precious properties of a good friend, but sometimes there is another consideration which outweighs it like emotional feeling of our friends. Take my experience with my best friend as an example - She is extremely excited and emotional person who is really relied on me as a friend. She is a runner that always take apart in our university's running competitions. I remember the day when she had won all of her competitors in group level, and wanted to pass final race with her rival who was definitely better than her. She was very optimistic about her final game and asked me to express my opinion about her ability. If I told her my real point of view not only she would become disappointed by me, but also her efficiency would be decreased. Hence, I preferred to tell a white lie to her which was the only reasonable choice.

Secondly, generally speaking, honesty don’t always bring friends benefits. I think in some circumstances saying the truth is even immoral. Sometimes if we want, to be honest, we need to refer to others' talk which will be unethical because they have trust us that we will keep their secrets. For instance, roughly 2 years ago when I was a bachelor student, I had a classmate; his name was David, who lived in our dormitory too. Once day he came to our room and talked about one of my friends, Swan. He was very angry and said that how Swan is selfish and impolite. Surprisingly, yesterday I realized that now he is swan's boyfriend. I saw swan yesterday in a bus where she said to me about their relationship. Swan said that David has been in love with her since the first year of our bachelor, he himself had said to her. Even though I knew that it was not true, I preferred to be silent at that moment and don’t tell the truth. In summary, by taken this into account, in my opinion friends cannot always tell the truth because of some more important considerations in friendship and also its contradiction with moral behavior toward others. Who can in their right mind say that honesty always is the best choice?