Do you agree or disagree with the following statement? It is more important for students to

understand ideas and concepts than it is for them to learn facts. Use specific reasons and

examples to support your answer

Learning through concepts is the most effective way of learning and not through facts. I agree with the statement that it is more important for students to understand concept than to learn things by just assuming it as facts.

First and foremost, if you learn things by facts then it will trouble you later. Furthermore, you will not able to correlate it with the previously learnt topics. However, if you understand by concepts then it will be easier to correlate with what you had studied earlier. For example, you are learning special theory of relativity without understanding the real concept behind it, you will not able to digest the general theory of relativity as it is based on knowledge of special relativity, unless you think by conceptual ideas.

Secondly, the major disadvantage of learning through facts is that you need to memorize everything. Moreover, if you will try to memorize everything then you are definitely going to forget some or the other thing and this is affect your academic grade, your knowledge, etc. For example, think of remembering mathematics by equations, you will definitely forgot the equations as mathematics is a very broad topic with many equations, unless you conceptually know its derivation . In addition, students who are now at school level need to study many more things in life and it is not possible for anyone to go by just facts and assumptions.

Lastly, if you learn through the facts, you are learning only about particular topic or questions. For instance if you are asked about a question which is slight different from what you have learned then you will not be able to think out it. After all, you have knowledge of only the fact and that too of only topic you have learnt. On the other hand if you were aware of concept then you will able to think out of box and try solving the mundane problems. In practical life, the problems are not going to be what you have learnt. However, they can be solved if you know the right concept.

In conclusion, I believe that there are benefits of understanding concepts and ideas. As mentioned concepts provides better understanding of problems and better correlation with the things you have learnt.