Do you agree or disagree with the following statement It is more important to keep your old friends than it is to make new friends Use specific reasons and examples to support your answer

People experience significant changes in their lives such as moving into a new environment and losing their loved ones. Through those life transitions, I believe it is more important to keep old friendships than to make new friends especially when you face such a major transition. With a better understanding of your personalities, old friends can support you whenever you’re in need.

First, you can be honest with your old friends, which allows you to share your struggles and personal concerns which are hard to talk to a new friend about. For instance, I had a hard time working in a new environment right after I graduated from college. Although I was shy and I was not able to open to others in a new environment, talking to my old friends helped me to remind myself of being true to myself. Thanks to my old friends who embrace my true personality, I could realize the positive sides of myself. Sharing my struggles with them lead me not only to release my stress but also to improve self-worth.

Second, old friends can support you even during your tough times since they have a better understanding of who you are. My friends from my high schools and college understand me more than my coworkers since we’ve gone through all the ups and downs with friends at schools. On the other hand, I felt it is hard to make new friends at work because making connections at workplaces has to deal with business matters associated with costs and benefits. While I try to expand my relationships with workers and clients, I value more on old friends who expect nothing in return. I believe old friends are more reliable and willing to offer advice and help whenever I need them.

Third, keeping old friends ultimately encourages you to make a new friend by allowing you to appreciate a sense of connection with others. Life gets much harder without human connections especially when you enter into new environments. Facing difficulties, you will realize the importance of social connections to thrive in your new place. At the same time, you will come to understand the needs of expanding corroborative networks where you are now. Since old friends have taught me that friendships are invaluable for my life, they inspired me to become the person who can influence others in such positive ways. Likewise, maintaining your old friendships ultimately results in expanding humanistic connections with others wherever you are.

In conclusion, I think it is more important to keep old friends than to make new friends because old friends have more positive impacts. Because of having a better understanding of your personalities and willingness to support you, old friends are more reliable to thrive during your difficult life transitions. I believe the people who can value old friends can make a new friendship with others regardless of circumstances.