Do you agree or disagree with the following statement? It is more important to keep your old friends than it is to make new friends. Use specific reasons and examples to support your answer.

specific reasons and examples to support your answer.

Throughout history, people due to their social nature have been inclined to make different relationships with other people. One of the most significant relationships among people is friendship which plays a critical role in every people’s private and social life. In this regard, there is a hot topic among people is that whether it is more important to keep old friends than it is to make new friends. In my opinion, making new friends is more important than keeping old friends. I will shed light on my reasons in the following paragraphs.

To begin with, making new friends get you an opportunity to experience new things. Indeed, with meeting new people you have the chance to know about new thoughts and new ideas which opens your mind and helps you to mature personally. Take my personal experience as an instance. I met a girl quite by accident in a fitness club two years ago. At first, we spoke about our daily life, then we soon became friends. She worked in an environmental NGO and just because of our friendship I became familiar with the NGO and its interesting ideas about conserving valuable natural sources of our country. Now I am a member of the NGO and I am experiencing one of the things that I always liked to do. Moreover, I meet wonderful people with great personalities who help me to be a better person.

Second, there is a famous sentence that “As you get older, less you find a real friend”. I totally disagree with the sentences because at any age you can find a person who has a lot in common with you. Moreover, as people grow, new responsibilities and major changes such as getting married or being a mother/ father have permanent effects on peoples’ minds and lifestyles. Therefore, it is a good decision that you make new friends who have similar points with them. To exemplify, some of my old friends got married and others immigrated, they were very busy to stay in touch with me, so I was alone. When I studied a master at university, I became friends with two of my classmates. They were very nice and we soon became so close friends. We have been friends since we met at university and they are my best, trusted and close friends that I have ever had.

To sum up, making new friends let you to not only be familiar with new people with new thoughts but also find new people who are better friends to you rather than old ones. You also are given an opportunity to surrounded yourself with great people who inspire you to be a better person. Based on my positive experiences mentioned above, I highly recommend that people do not restrict themselves to old friends and welcome new friendships with open arms.