Do you agree or disagree with the following statement? It is more important for students to understand ideas and concepts than it is for them to learn facts. Use specific reasons and examples to support your answer.

We are all aware of the importance of learning facts as well as concepts and ideas. I have a firm belief that learning concepts and ideas are more essential than learning facts for two reasons that I will explore in the subsequent essay.

First, naked facts can be easily memorized from a textbook or on the internet, but they impede further development to solve problems. In contrast, concepts need to be understood to be applied in any situation. I have to admit that my opinion on that matter has been profoundly influenced by my own experience. When I was in pharmacy school, I took a sick leave for a week and, missed a chemistry lecture. I knew the topic and memorized the pure facts of chemical equations from the textbook. However, I could not solve a single question. Impressively, when my professor elaborated concepts and illustrated the ideas of how chemical reactions take place through specific chemical groups, I was thrilled that I can analyze and anticipate the products in any set of chemical compounds, in contrast with the result when I tried to memorize the plain facts. For the reason that concepts and ideas are applicable, I think learning them is more significant than learning mere facts.

Secondly, learning concepts and ideas leads to more progression and creation in all aspects of science. If scientists had never learned the concepts, we would have never seen innovation in any field. Take the medical field as an example, medical students learn the fact that human bodies produce antibodies through the individuals' immune system when they get infected by a bacterium. More valuably, they learn the concept of how to use these antibodies to invent antibiotics to cure illness. Consequently, they can abstract the concept for developing a specific antibiotic for any novel bacteria or when bacteria acquire resistance. Now, most incurable diseases in the past are treatable because of interpreting concepts of immunity. So, for the sake of innovations in the medical field, I think learning concepts is more fundamental than plain facts.

In conclusion, I strongly believe that learning concepts and ideas are more crucial than learning absolute facts since learning concepts teaches us further analysis. Additionally, it allows us to interpret and abstract facts in more innovation and creation in all fields such as the medical field.