It is more important for students to understand ideas and concepts than it is for them to learn facts.

I agree with statement that it is more important for students to understands ideas and concepts than it is for them to learn facts. I take this position basically for the following three reasons.

First of all, if one student try to understand the ideas and concepts deeply than it can sharpen his thinking ability. To get the ideas and concepts of a topic one student has to invest a lot of time and mental energy to that topic. Moreover, one student needs to be determined to get the information that he is looking for. Thus, this type of practice could make a student more perseverent and diligent. For example, my little brother had the tendency to disect the ideas and concepts of any topic. This habit made him a avid learner. He was so meticulous in his approach that he could learn every basic elements in any topic. This made him a student having more perseverence and diligence. But if could only stick with the facts then it could not be possible to become a avid learner.

Secondly, to impose more importance on understanding of ideas and concepts can increase our thinking ability that may help in our future academic research purposes. If one student starts to learn how to think critically from his school life then it could make the path of his research career smoother. Why not? As the student already knows how to deal with the critical thinking. For example, I was used to think critically on any topic in my school life. I gave more importance on getting new ideas and concepts rather than facts. And this practice helped me a ton to work smoothly with my research projects in undergrad life. But if I would only stick with the facts then, it might not help me to unveil my research potential sooner to the supervisors.

Finally, if one student could know the every details of the ideas and concepts then he could see the topic of interest in a whole picture. This could complete his learning on that particular topic. Moreover, this practice could unveil some other understanding with related topics that are linked with each other. Thus, to see a topic in a broader picture students should accustomed to this practice to learn ideas and concepts deeply. For example, one of my friends was used to this practice. He had the intention to know new things. This engendered him to get the deeper understanding of any topics rather than facts. Moreover, he could connect physics with biology through this practice that amazed us on that time. In turn, we believe this habit lead him to become a prestigious researcher in NASA.