Do you agree or disagree with the following statement?

It is more important for students to understand ideas and concepts than it is for them to learn facts.

Use specific reasons and examples to support your answer.

It is undeniable that ideas and concepts are very important in any kind of education. They help in improving any field and in building up any small thing into a creative one. However, in my opinion, I think it is more important for students to learn facts than it is to undersatand different ideas and concepts. I feel this way for two reasons, which I am going to explain in the following essay. To begin with, learning facts is the first step of any scientific field. When people learn them it will be easier for them to have better understanding for new ideas. Moreover, they can use these facts to create better applications for ideas. For example, my brother Ammar is an indastrial engineer. When he was preparing for his graduation project with his friends, they had a great idea about a machine that helps in removing snow out of main streets more efficiently. In response, they could not do that without learning many facts about weather, snow characteristics, and physical changes that happend during the melting of the ice in general. Ammar and his friends took specialized courses to make sure that they knew all the needed facts, then they started the process of collecting their ideas and choosing which concepts they would use, that in turn helped them in building up a stronger and more reliable machine. Consequently, their project were one of the best projects at the college, and their professor asked them to participate in the national competition for creative projects. Second, ideas and concepts are variables, but facts are not, so they will not change with time or according to any one preferences. That is why it is more important for students to study the fixed things first then they can understand what ever came infront of them. Back to my brother's example above, when they started thinking about their last year project, there were many different ideas and applications about the machine they want to do, but all of them need the same facts about snow and weather, so the way they started to work on their project were the most suitable one to build the most effective and efficient machine. To sum up, I strongly believe that learning facts is more important for students than understanding ideas and concepts not only because facts help in building stronger ideas, but also they are unchangable and fixed regardless the time or the place.