Do you agree or disagree with the following statement?

It is more important for students to understand ideas and concepts than it is for them to learn facts.

It is known that both concepts and facts are basic parts of learning, teaching and assessment process. They are correlated but concepts are broadened and understandable ideas while facts are usually memorized information. I strongly agree that it is more suitable that students to learn concepts than just facts.

Learning concepts is a longer and maybe a life-longer process. It is also a slow process because to understand a concept we have to gather information, make connections, create mental maps or graphs and correlate all these together. For this reason, we can keep this idea for a long time or even our entire life, since its forgetfulness is hard to happen. When we understand an idea or concept we create in our mind a network of information, examples, images and feelings that are all interconnected to create the understanding of that concept. It is not just a fact or information, it is a whole process that makes sense in our minds.

Memorizing facts, on the other hand, is a faster process that is usually made by repetition. Maybe due to this reason, it is easily forgotten. For example, Streptococcus Mutans cause tooth decay is a fact that maybe just dentists should know and comprehend why. If I state this fact to one hundred people and after two hours I ask them which bacteria cause tooth decay, probably less than ten people will remember this fact. However, when dentists or dental hygienists teach the concept that involves tooth decay and why brushing teeth is important and avoid this process by remineralizing the acidic environment created by bacteria, patients will seldom forget the idea and will be motivated to follow the instructions.

Similarly, this may happen with students. Understanding ideas and concepts will enable them to think critically and develop broad conceptual connections between different subjects. However, when students just memorize facts, they rarely will be able to answer conceptual questions, because their critical thinking skills are not developed, and they easily forget the facts that they had just memorized for a test. For instance, knowing that Brazil was discovered by Pedro Alvares Cabral at 1500 is a fact that students can memorize, but it is much more important for them to understand the idea that Brazil had already been discovered at that time and how the colonization process has occurred.

To sum up, I believe that understand concepts is a crucial aspect of learning process. Although memorize facts is also part of it, we can do this better and more efficiently when we already understand the broad conceptual knowledge about the topic.