While spending the budget government focus should be general welfare of all the people. There has been no shortage of debate about how government should spent it's money for internet and public transportation to improve public lives. I think this depends on variety of factors; for example, number of people who own their private vehicles, need for public transport and internet, literacy rate of the area etc. Generally speaking, I believe that it's better for all concerned if government improves public transport rather than improving internet access. I feel this way for several reasons which I explore in following essay.

First of all, it's important to consider significance of public transportation in economic growth of a country. Certainly, it's possible for some nations to achieve economic success even without spending much in public transport. But, it is not the case in most of the nations. In developing countries like India, many people cannot afford their own vehicle and are dependent on public transport for basic needs like education and employment. By way of example, I can recall my personal experience. When I was in high school, I had to travel 10 kilo meters from my home in government bus to reach school. There were only 2 buses per day. If I missed the bus then I was going to miss classes for that day. Bus timings were highly inconvenient and despite the public protest local government did not pay any heed to improve transportation. As a result, many people in my area suffered a lot. At that time need for public transport was more than need for internet.

Hence, in addition to importance of public transport, I think it's better for individual as well as society if everyone starts using public transport. This can only be achieved by improving public transport facilities. If public transportation is good, many people will start using it instead of relying on their own vehicle. If every one in the city uses it, then imagine the amount of petrol we can save, traffic problem and air pollution that we can control. In addition to this public can save lot of money as well since pubic transportation is cheaper. My own personal experience is a compelling example for this. I am living in Bangalore which is one of the crowded cities in India. My office is very far from my home and I used to take private cab in order to reach office every day. However, after metro services started I started travelling in metro. It helped me to save lot of time as well as money. This is the case with many of my co-workers as well.

Finally, spending money to improve internet access does not necessarily mean welfare of all people. I will be the first person to admit that internet is crucial for development of a country. However, in developing countries like India internet is not available at every location. Also, many people in rural India do not know how to use it. It could be possible for government to make it available every where. But, it cannot teach each and everyone how to make benefit out of it. So, I think it's necessarily fair to claim that improved internet access may not have same benefits in rural as well as urban parts of city. In fact, I believe that general welfare of all the people in society should be the first priority of any government.

In summary, based on the arguments explored above, I am of the opinion that in most cases it's actually more beneficial if government concentrates on achieving welfare(i,e improving public transportation) of all the people in it's society. Later on it can work on improving other facilities like internet.