Do you agree or disagree with the following statement?

Letting a friend make a mistake is better than saying or doing something that would destroy the friendship.

Some people think that allowing friends to make a mistake is better, while others disagree. Personally, I believe that people should not say or do anything that would destroy the friendship. My reasons are as follows.

To begin with, people are usually stubborn, so saying or doing anything might not change friends’ minds at all. For instance, my friend Larry was a member of a cult called Purple Discovery in Taiwan. However, I just let him discover that fact by himself. Two years later, he realized that everything he had done in the church, such as praying to a molded orange or jumping through a star-shaped chopstick, is totally absurd. As a result, he quitted and stayed away from that silly cult as far as possible. Contrarily, if I told Larry that he was accidentally brainwashed by a cult member. Then, due to the stubbornness nature of human being, he probably would not trust me. Consequently, he might still be one of the members of that cult.

In addition, most people care about their reputation, and letting friends know that they make a mistake might damage people’s reputation. For example, my friend Todd is extremely obese, and this is because he always eats McDonalds and Kentucky Fried Chicken every day. Five months ago, I recommended him adjust his unhealthy lifestyle to lose weight and procure a healthier body. Nevertheless, he portrayed me as a horrible fat-shamer on social media, and many of his friends and families blamed me for being toxic to him. Eventually, I gained a notorious image from many people. On the contrary, my sister Jane was a shy person. Thus, when her friend Kate had an unhealthy habit, such as staying up late, she gave Kate some hints, such as “Getting up early can help you save a lot of money on transportation”. As a result, Jane’s friend noticed the hint and adjusted her bad habit. Most importantly, she considered Jane as an intelligent and considerate person.

Last but not least, people are naturally risk-averse, and keeping their mouth shut can prevent people from getting into trouble. For instance, my cousin Daniel once accidentally befriended a gang member, and Daniel’s best friend Garry secretly told him the truth. Nevertheless, Garry’s message was somehow leaked to the gang members. As a result, Garry was brought to a secret bush and beaten by gangsters. Eventually, Garry was severely injured, got a fracture, stayed in the hospital for more than 5 months. On the other hand, Daniel’s other friend Ted also acknowledged that Daniel befriended a gang member deliberately, but he kept his mouse close on this issue. Therefore, he did not get lambasted and sent to the hospital.

In conclusion, I maintain that people should not do anything that would destroy the friendship. After all, the majority of people care about their reputation, tend to avoid trouble, and are considerate toward their friends.