Do you agree or disagree with the following statement Movies and television have more negative effects than positive effects on the way young people behave Use specific reasons and examples to support your answer

Television and movies are the biggest boons that technology has given to the world. Although it may occur to some people, especially parents of young children, that these developments negatively affect their kids, there are a lot of advantages that parents may not have considered. I definitely do not agree that movies and television impact young people's behaviour more negatively than they do positively.I believe this way for three reasons which I will explore in the following essay.

To begin with, movies are a great way to impart education to students. Movies based on different themes provide students with different kinds of information. The movies based on history, for example, may motivate students and make them interested to know about the ancient times as there are visuals that depict the scenarios. When watching the historical events in the form of visuals, the students are likely to remember them for a much longer time than if they read about them in the books. Also, reading about history in textbooks could be boring for some students, which may lead to such students being disinterested.

Secondly, televisions these days air various shows related to science and technology which showcase stuff like experiments, new advancements etc. The audience for such shows particularly include kids from grades 3-6. These children are in their learning stage and when they watch new experiments on the TV, they tend to become curious and as a result, end up learning a great deal about science. Students get to know about the idea behind these experiments, the effects that they exhibit and the advancements that they can lead to.

Finally, movies and television help young people to release their stress and to take a break from their otherwise monotonous routine. If the people get to watch some of their favourite TV shows and songs, they may feel happy and as a result they are more likely to be focussed on the work they do. For example, I got really frustated when I had to work on my class project for more than 6 hours continuously. It became really difficult to concentrate as I was tired and my mind was stressed out. I resorted to TV and watched one of my favourite music shows. When I returned to working on my project, I was able to concentrate much better and as a result, was able to finish my project work efficiently.

To sum up, there are ample advantages of television and movies that outweigh their negative effects. If these technological resources are used in the right way and for the right purpose, they can help humans to develop incredibly.