Do you agree or disagree with the following statement? Movies and television have more negative effects than positive effects on the way young people behave. Use specific reasons and examples to support your answer

television have more negative effects than positive effects on the way young people behave

Nowadays, it is commonly accepted that television is so far from its primary propose as a source of fine socialization and transmitting genius and helpful meanings. Contrary to this popular belief, there are still those who argue that people have not be so critics about television programs since television provides people with the most enjoyable and accessible amusement, and just few programs should not change people view toward this helpful technology. However, I, to a great extent, agree with this idea that movies and television have more negative effects than positive effects on the way young people behave.

First and foremost, television programs obviously encourage violence behaviors in the society. Not only movies with more young and teenage audience have a lot of extreme criminal and violence content, but also some of programs for very young children sharing harsh and unethical information. Unfortunately, the visual effects of movies make repeating these types of behaviors interesting for young people, for example, it is not unusual that the teenagers steal something from a store to show their courage to their friends. Some young people think that if they do not drink beverage or do not smoke so they are not enough cool or adult. Moreover, sometimes television shares some negative information and attitude toward one particular race or religion beliefs, which it has a very harmful and dangerous consequence for the society.

Another significant fact that should be taken into consideration is that television become a powerful tool in hand of some people for commercial aims. The advertisement companies employ celebrities and models to advertising their products which force people to buy some products that they do not really needed. In addition, the television programs determine some standards for human beauty and body shape, young people hardly try to lose weight and seek to become similar to the famous actors and models. Nonetheless, this condition raises the threat of some mental illness such as depression and anxiety for someone who are not very slim or tall, since everybody needed to find themselves beautiful and attractive.

On the basis of the reasons that were mentioned above, I am convinced that movies and television have more negative effects than positive effects on the way young people behave. It is because television share harmful information and encourage violence behavior, and because television is now more a tool for advertisement.