Do you agree or disagree with the following statement? Newspapers and magazines are the best ways to learn about a foreign country.

In the modern era, people’s tendency towards immigrating to different countries has increased because of different purposes like embarking on a new academic or occupational life. One of the most urgent problems for prospective immigrants is how they can get familiar with different countries and, accordingly, choose their destination. In this regard, people’s opinions are divided as to whether newspapers and magazines are the best way to learn about different aspects of a foreign country or not. Despite the fact that newspapers and magazines can provide people with beneficial insights about a country, it is my firm conviction that reading local newspapers and magazines is not the best feasible option. To support this, there are several reasons, two of which are going to be aptly explored in the following.

First and foremost, the reason why it is not a prudent course of action for people to use newspapers and magazines as their best source to get to know a country lies in the fact that they do not provide people with accurate news or of pieces of information. Most of reporters are not unbiased enough to pay painstaking attention to the completeness, accuracy, and impartiality of the news due their inclination towards a specific party. As a result, they may eliminate some parts of the news, exaggerate some details, and in some cases, fabricate some stories in favor of the party. According to statistics, more than seventy percent of people in Islamic Republic of Iran, flatly reject that the newspapers reflect the real circumstances of the society. On the contrary, they believe that the newspapers and magazines accentuate the pieces of information which are in favor of the Iranian Government. Moreover, magazines and newspapers need money to stay in business so they may disregard the importance of adhering to moral standards and may change the contents to escalate the number of readers for economic interests

Another worthwhile reason to be mentioned is that travelling to a foreign country, rather than reading some pieces of information, is said to be the best way to learn a lot of intricate details about that country. Generally speaking, in order to find the best way to work out a purpose, people should explore different ways and adopt on the ones which seem more sensible. According to sociologists, the best way to learn about a subject, nomatter what it is, is by gaining firsthand experience and information. However, in newspapers and magazines the publishers tell the stories using their own angles and perspectives, which is second hand experience and cannot be beneficial as much. Take my personal experience as a compelling example, a couple of years ago I had made up my mind to immigrate to Germany to pursue my studies. According to magazines and newspapers, German people seemed very inhospitable, but I took a short trip to Germany to get to know the country better, and that was enough for me to understand that I was totally wrong about the Germans’ personality traits. Had I not gained firsthand

experience, I would have chosen another country to pursue my studies in.

In summary of what has been illustrated and discussed in detail, it is a foregone conclusion that newspapers and magazines are not the best possible option for leaning about a country. The newspapers inaccuracy, coupled with the importance of one’s firsthand experience, is the reason which strengthens my claim.