Do you agree or disagree with the following statement? One of the best ways that parents can help their teenage children prepare for adult life is to encourage them to take a part-time job.

It is critically important that people step into their adult life with some previous experience. Personally, I believe having a part-time occupation is a becoming way for teenagers to be prepared for the next level of their lives, and parents should be the advocate of this idea. I feel this way for two reasons, which I will explain in the following paragraphs.

To begin with, teenagers will be familiar with various careers, which will help them to choose their future jobs. By working in different part-time jobs, they will gain some perspective on many businesses, and can determine which career path attracts them the most. A successful adult life depends on many factors, one of which is having a vocation that is interesting for the person. Therefore, parents could motivate their young children to try some half-time jobs to find their passion. My personal experience is a compelling example of this. When I was in high school, following my father’s suggestion, I got to work in a call center at weekends for few months. During my working hours, I noticed that human resources management had an appealing job definition, because it had to deal with people, trying to help them to fulfill their jobs more efficiently. Had my father not encouraged me to work at that call center, I would have not decided to follow my education in management and human resources now.

Furthermore, parents will make their children more responsible adults by recommending them to have a temporary job as teenagers, which is a valuable asset for a person. Most teenagers feel that they are just obligated to do their school assignments, so they do not require accepting any other duties. If they have a task out of the house, they will learn how to deal with the consequences of their actions. This is because someone other than their parents will ask them about the task. As a result, this would lead them to grow their personality and be more responsible as adults. For instance, my younger brother never made his bed before leaving for school, but after he got a part-time job in a hotel as a housekeeper for few months, he started to neat his room eventually at home. Therefore, subconsciously, a job shapes the behaviors of teenagers.

In conclusion, I am of the view that encouraging young people to have a temporary job by their parents makes them well prepared for their adult life. This is because they will be able to find their desired future career and more responsible in the upcoming days of life.