Today in the modern world the opportunities to get informed are huge. Espicially, via internet it is very easy to reach the information about a recent development is very easy. Although choosing one news source and only check news from there seem quite comfortable, I think that to be well-informed getting news from different sources is much better because of various reasons.

First reason is, the sources that we choose can be biased. For all sources there are some issues that is impossible for that source to be unbiased. Let’s say you are following the news about Ukrain- Russia conflict, if you only follow Russian news sources you can’t be informed well. These sources most probably will provide news from a pro-Russian perspective. For example, if you want to check how many Russian soldiers died in the war, you will find far fewer numbers in Russian sources than actual numbers.

Secondly, especially for hot news, getting information from only one sources can be problematic at the first minute. In such situations, the sources provide all information that they reach without confirming them. For instance, 2 mounts before some big earthquake happened in Turkey. In the first few minutes, a lot of untrue information is published by different news sources. Some people acted according to these sources and after a short period of time, they understand that these news aren’t true.

Last but not the least, in some countries, the freedom of the press is not high and governments have a lot of press on the media. Because of this, there can be a huge amount of self-censorship on journalists or news editors. In such cases, it is not a good idea to focus on news that produced in this country. Besides, it will be a good idea to add at least a foreign news source in sources that it is informed by.

In conclusion, getting news from only one news source is not a good idea because of the reason that I mentioned above. That is why, it is a good idea to differancied the sources according to the events and topics we want to be informed about.