Do you agree or disagree with the following statement In the past young people depended too much on their parents to make decisions for them today young people are better able to make decisions about their own lives Use specific reasons and examples to su

There are different opinions on whether or not today's young people have become more independent than before. Despite the fact that some people think that nowadays, the young generation relies on their parents most of the time and their decisions depend on what their parents want, I believe otherwise, maintaining that youth and adolescents in the modern era are free-standing, and they make most of their decisions by themselves. In what follows, I will delve into the most persuasive reasons to substantiate my perspective.

Without a doubt, the most consequential reason corroborating my stance on this subject is that today's children are well-educated. They have trained their ability to look at their problems and difficulties from different perspectives. Young people of the modern world will consider various aspects of the issues they face, so they do not need to rely on anyone else in their decision makings. Drawing from my own experience, many years ago, after finishing high school, I had to choose a university to continue my education, and I decided to choose a university located in another city than my hometown. I utilized what my teachers had taught me in high school and specified the advantages and disadvantages of studying and living in a new town far from my family. I made one of the most momentous decisions of my life with the help of my previous knowledge and information, not by taking assistance from my parents. Therefore, this reason clearly manifests that today's young generation makes most of their decisions by themselves.

Although the previous reason is the first one crossing the mind at first glance, another remarkable point deserving some words here is technological progress during the recent decades. Nowadays, almost all children have access to computers and the internet. They use the help of computers, the internet, and other modern devices in their decision, for example, in purchasing some stuff, rather than the help of their parents. It is not exaggerating if we say that parents today are even more dependent on their children than their children are on them. Take my father as an example. Whenever my father decides to buy a device, he asks me to surf the internet and introduce him to some of the best brands. He is more dependent on me in his decisions than I am on him. Thus, this point illustrates the fact that today, youth are more independent than ever.

All in all, many people are in favor of the idea that children and youth are rely on their parents in their decision more than they were before. Nevertheless, the foregoing points lead us to conclude that not only are modern-era children independent of their parents, but their parents depend too much on them; this is because today, children are more educated, so they can make their decisions by considering different aspects of them, and they have the help of technology in their decision makings.