Do you agree or disagree with the following statement In the past young people depended too much on their parents to make decisions for them today young people are better able to make decisions about their own lives Use specific reasons and examples to

Making decisions has always been hard when it comes to inexperienced young adults. Some people regard young adults, in the past, as dependent individuals. This group also believes that young adults subjected too much to their parents to make decisions for them. And believe young adults, nowadays, can make better decisions about their own lives. Others do not have the same viewpoint. I subscribe to the former. In my opinion young adults, in this day and age, are more capable of making their own decisions in life. The reasons for which I believe so are as follows:

In this day and age, young people are becoming more exposed to decision making. There is no doubt that the world is becoming more complicated each passing day. Technology's development is undeniably astounding. And this has a major impact on the growth of a young adult's mind. For example, a teenager wants to buy a new smartphone. There are many smartphones with different features on the market. Thus the teenager has to decide which phone he or she wants. Even though this might not seem like an important decision but the outcome is still important. He or she could decide on a smartphone, with no knowledge on the technical matter, but in the end, he or she will see the result of their choice. Therefore, understand how to decide on which product to buy.

In the present time, parents are more educated and have a better understanding of their children's needs. Not to mention how parents, nowadays, have more resources, like books and experts, to help them raise their children better. In the past, parents did not have these benefits and only had limited knowledge of the subject. Thus, most parents did not allow their children to make decisions. Parents only believed that children's observation of the parent's decisionmaking would be enough. Hence, young adults always asked their parents to decide for them. In contrast, parents nowadays let their teenagers decide what they should do and only provide them with their own opinions and experiences. Letting teenagers make the ultimate decision and allowing them to see the consequences of their actions. Thus, helping them gain experience and knowledge that will help them in their own lives.

In today's modern world, young adults can make better decisions in comparison to young adults in the past. Advances in technology and parent's improved parenting skills are proving to be helpful to young adults to make better decisions.