Do you agree or disagree with the following statement? In the past, young people depended too much on their parents to make decisions for them; today young people are better able to make decisions about their own lives. Use specific reasons and examples to support your answer.

Has our dependency on parents reduced when it comes to taking decisions? After pondering on this question for a while, I feel that we are now much more independent to take our decision than our precedents were for the reasons elucidated in the following essay.

Firstly, ensuing growth of social networkings has led to the emergence of mutiple options which the youth in past didn't had at that time. As a result, it is now very easier to get opinions for the issues that is bothering us. For an instance, about 25 years back, people would often rely on their parent's opinions whenever they were in dilemma. My personal experience would be an apt example to illustrate my viewpoint. I wanted to purchase a small piece land for starting my new industry. However, intially I was perplexed whether the particular location would be favourable to my business or not. This dilemma was immediately resolved when I found the positive reviews of that location from the localities on social networking websites. I had sense of assurance when I learnt that even the other traders of my field has purchased land in the same viscinity. As illustrated, with the recent of developments of social networking groups, our dependency on parnets has reduced significantly.

Furthemore, with the emergence of special communities, our dependency on parents has been further reduced. About 5 years back, I was suffering from depression. But, fortunately I could find a NGO - "Serenity" which was solely dedicated towards helping the people suffering pscyhological issues. In the earlier days, due to the absence of such helping groups, people had to rely on their parents to share their problems. I joined this commmunity wherein the experts helped me to overcome my pschological issues and boosted my morale.

Lastly, the ensuing changes in social trend has played pivotal role in dimishing our dependenecy on our parents. For example, in the earlier days, parents would often choose their children's career. However, in the new era, parents are considerate enough to let the children choose the career of their own choice. With the plethora of information available along with social independence from parents, young people are now able to make decisions based on their interest and decisions.

Based on above illustrations, I posit that young people are now less dependant on their parents because of emergence of social networking, developement of new communities and changing social social trends.