Do you agree or disagree with the following statement?

In the past, young people depended too much on their parents to make decisions for them; today young people are better able to make decisions about their own lives.

The ability to make decisions is one of the human being’s critical abilities, which determine their destiny. Because of its importance, people have always tried to make decisions in the best way. Controversy exists over whether people mostly the young can make the best ones like never before that they depended on just their parents. In my vantage point, young people are more independent and freethinking; they have been in the past by comparison.

The first crucial point worth mentioning is that today, young people are able to make significant decisions; in contrast, they depended on their family in the past due to the existence of traditional beliefs. Modernity leads people to think differently and leave most of the conventional notions; however, the young respected their traditions and followed their parents’ beliefs excessively in the past. They endeavored to retain the views even at the expense of a better life. Hence, people have depended on their parents to make decisions and have adopted decisions that might contrast sharply with their own opinion. Undoubtedly, it has accompanied with adverse consequences. Imagine a young woman who had decided to get married, and she had to follow traditions and chose a man base on her parent’s opinions perhaps totally against her will, just since she has thought her parents think better than herself. Therefore, traditional thoughts affected the young’s making decision unfavorably.

Furthermore, young people can make better decisions given broad access to information nowadays. Technology Particularly internet has had a profound impact on human life through provide ease of access to sources of information Such as books, social Medias just at the click of a mouse and improve their communication; consequently, it has contributed to broad the young’s horizon in comprehensive range aspects of their life. That is, they can get a more realistic sense of life, which in turn makes them excellent decision-makers. People can also meet professional persons in different fields, so the young can get help from the right persons and finally make the best decisions for their life. Consider a teenager dealing with choosing his major in university, he according to his interest and information, consulting his parents and professional people can choose an appropriate field of study. Therefore, thanks to the internet, making decisions is more thoughtful.

In a word, young people have an outstanding ability to resolve somewhat independently nowadays. Given that they are not limited to traditions; and they know no boundaries to access information. It is predicted that the young are more successful in assessing the pros and cons of circumstance these days.