Do you agree or disagree with the following statement?

In the past, young people depended too much on their parents to make decisions for them; today young people are better able to make decisions about their own lives.

Use specific reasons and examples to support your answer.

I agree that nowadays young people are better able to make decisions about their own lives. Parents today can not help their kids to take right decisions suitable for nowadays fast pace life. That is because, parents only know the outdated traditional ways of life. Also, it is easy for the new generations to access many sources of information to help them take decisions about their future.

First, most parents advice their kids to choose the regular life style which is going to college then work and marry in the same city where the family live. other parents want their teens to go to the same college as the parents did and work in the same field. Parents in most cases do not push their kids to explore life. on the other hand, nowadays teens want to travel and live on their own and study new carrier fields like computer engineering, information security analysis and many more things that the parents generations do not know about. So, the old generation can not be a good supporter for their youngsters to make brave decisions regarding to their future.

Secondly, because of the communication revolution that we have world wide, so young people can find great sources of information to help them make their own decisions. Also, they can take advantage not only from their parents experience but also, they can access to many people experience through the internet. When I was about to go to college my parents wanted me to study pharmacy school to earn good money but i made my own search on the many available websites and I concluded that the pharmaceutical career does not have a promising future so i chose post secondary teaching carrier which is rising in the job market recently. So, thanks for the information revolution on the internet which make it easy for young people to take their decisions in life.

Finally, I do not think that parents old tradition way of thinking will help their the new generations to take life decisions more than internet information and communication do for them.