Do you agree or disagree with the following statement People in the future will read fewer books

In the past, reading is one of the most important way for people to absorb knowledge and acquire necessary information. Nevertheless, with the development of modern technology and the invention of Internet, it seems to have changed everything. Compared to media or websites, which are more convenient and can transfer information in a blink, books have lost its edge. According to this trend, some people argue that in the future, people will read less books. In my opinion, I disagree with this argument and believe that reading will still be an essential way for us to learn about the world. I feel this way for two reasons, which I will elaborate in the following essays.

First and foremost, reading books is a more reliable way for people to search information. It's undeniable that authors are usually more qualified than online bloggers. They are often scholars or successful figures in one area, which add more credibility to the books. In the process of publishing a book, many editors will revise the materials and look through it carefully. In this age of information chaos, credibility should be regarded as people's prime focus. My personal experience can be a compelling example of this argument. I used to search for information online to finish my survey homework. However, many online materials didn't have solid sources and often contend misinformation. One day when I submitted my homework to my teacher without looking carefully at the information sources I copied from Internet, who pointed out the misinformation part and suggested me to use books more to attain information. This experience really taught me a good lesson and made me appreciate books more.

Second, books contain knowledge that tends to have a more profound impact on human beings. It's true that the publishing process is time-demanding and thus books cannot be used to get the most update news like TV or social media. However, the time log of books serves as a filter of truth, only the most important part of human life can be written into books. The superficial and instant stuff may become popular for a while, filling the tabloids and headlines, but they also quickly disappear.

Admittedly, people now have other choices to acquire information, such as TV or Internet. These channels have their own advantages, like they are more instant and convenient for people to use. But they won't take the place of books, because they also have their own shortcomings like misinformation or fake news.

In conclusion, based on what has been discussed above, I truly believe that books won't disappear from people's lives, and maybe people will value it more than now.