Do you agree or disagree with the following statement? People will spend less time cooking and preparing food in twenty years than they do today

Food is an important source of energy for human. Since the dawn of civilization, human has been preparing food for themselves in order to survive. Some people argue that for food has always been an indispensable part in human civilization, human will not take fewer time to prepare food and cook in the future. However, as far as I am concerned, people will spend less time cooking and preparing food for the following reasons.

To begin with, nowadays our life paces have become faster and faster and our free time has become lesser and lesser. Each generation is going to face a much fiercer competition in the future, and in order to win the competition, they occupy their time with jobs or studying. For example, as there are more and more new technology companies, more people in tech field start sacrificing their free time in the hope of finding a new idea that can distinguish themselves from the rest. Therefore, according to one report in the recent Health Journal, employees or employers in technology field averagely spend 5 more hours per week eating outside. Clearly, our busier lives compel us to spend less time cooking or preparing food.

On top of that, there are more new products that can eliminate our time on cooking. This statement is substantiated by products such as canned food, frozen prepared foods. People just need to buy these products, take them out of the refrigerator and if needed, warm them with ovens. Simple and quickly, these new products save our time to cook and prepare food.

Lastly, the booming industry of restaurant also plays an important role in reducing people’s time on cooking and preparing food. Now these days we have more new fast food restaurants aside from McDonalds and KFC serving delicious, cheap and convenient fast food. We also have more gourmet restaurants; if we want to eat cheap but high-quality food, it would not be hard to find a restaurant doing that. When restaurants can provide us a variety of food that we do not know how to make and save our time, especially in these busy days, why people will bother to cook or prepare food by themselves?

In conclusion, for the reason that our lives have become busier, there are more new products and restaurants, I believe people in the next twenty years will spend less time on cooking and preparing food than they do today.