Do you agree or disagree with the following statement?

Playing computer games is a waste of time. Children should not be allowed to play them.

With the advancement of technology computers have become versatile. computers are especially popular among children. they used them for study, music, games etc. but the current trend among children is gaming. they waste their valuable time on gaming. this is not good. children should not be allowed to play them.

First reason is, computer games prevent them from studying. computer games are made to be highly addictive. because of that when a kid starts to play games it become their addiction and waste so much time that could have spent on educational purpose. For an example, I remember, when I’m studying for entrance exam to high school in Sri Lanka, I was addicted to games. even in the day before the exam I spent about two, three hours to play games. because of that I could not entered to a better high school. so gaming wasted my time for studying.

Secondly, computer games avoid kids from engaging physical activates and games. computer games forced them to sit down in front of a computer all the day and they can become fat, which could become unhealthy. I remember on my neighbor friend, one who introduce me to computer games. At the primary school was a thin boy. but after he get addicted to computer games within 3 year he became the big ball, weigh over 100 kg. Their family doctor advised him to stop playing computer games and play real games and to exercise. so this provides evidence to why children should avoid from computer games.

Finally, looking at a monitor straight 3-4 hours could harm the eye sight. children’s eyes are very sensitive and they have to use them to have better future. I remember one of my high school friend who was playing games over night wearing very thick spectacles. His eye sight was very weak so that he could not even read anything without spectacles. he even had to do an operation to improve his eye sight, and later he give up on games, but damage has been already done. this say that children should avoid playing computer games to protect their valuable eyes.

As the conclusion, advice need to give is children should avoid from playing computer games. it prevents children from studying and made them inefficient students. it made them fat that could lead to many non-spreading diseases. it also harms eye sight. Therefore it waste valuable childhood and causes many troubles. Hence children should avoid from computer games.