Do you agree or disagree with the following statement Playing computer games is a waste of time Children should not be allowed to play them Use specific reasons and examples to support your answer

Computer games are now so prevalent and can not be ignored. Specially when dealing with children, computer games nowadays cover a huge part of their entertainment. Although some people think that computer games can be good for children's entertainment, I think that they are a threat to a healthy life for two main reasons.

First, computer games are designed in a way to be addictive, so children spend a lot time playing games and they can't be separated from them. Addiction is bad in any level for a healthy life, because it can cause some abnormal behavior, mostly when separated from the tools of addiction. For example, my brother was addicted to a computer game named Minecraft, he spent a lot of time building houses and farms and mining minerals in the game that he forgot to do his homeworks most of the time, which resulted in him getting bad grades. After seeing his low grades, my parents decided to ban him from playing computer games for a while, but he became short-tempered and he was always bored and tired. So as you can see, computer games can be addictive and this can affect childrens life in a bad way.

Second, playing computer games for a long time weakens eyesight. Since ability to see well is a crucial part of a healthy life, we must be careful how much time children are spending playing computer games. For example, I myself had a habit of playing Super mario every day. After about a year, my mother took me to the doctor for a check-up and he said that I had to wear eyeglasses. Although I hated eyeglasses, I had to wear them anyway. So playing computer games can be harmful to children because it can weaken their eyesight.

In conclusion, computer games can be a threat to childrens healthy life. Because not only do they addict children to play for long hours, but also they weaken children's eyesight. There are some other side-effects too, like childhood obesity, short-temperedness, loneliness and etc, So everyone must control how much time their children spend playing Computer games.