It is more enjoyable to have a job where you work only three days a week for long hours than to have a job where you work five days a week for shorter hours

Working hours are undoubtedly a crucial thing in humans life. A controversial argument that is often raised regarding this topic is whether to work more days a week with shorter hours or opposit. If I were obliged to choose, I would think that it's better to work three days a week for long hours than five days for shorter hours for several reasons, on a few of which I will elaborate subsequently.

To begin with, I believe that working 3 days a week would let you spend more time on your personal desires. In this scenario, you have 4 days a week to devise plans and do your favorite activities. I believe my opinion is partially influenced by my personal experience. You see, once I have been working in a company three days a week but for longer hours, those three days I was in a company all day, but instead, I could spend the rest of the week with my hobbies and I was so happy about that. I took the gym, and art classes and still had time to rest and chill.

Secondly, I think longer days at work are more efficient. When you're concentrated on your work for hours you do your tasks better. For instance, 3 years earlier, when I was working in an office five days a week, there were times that I was so deep getting my jobs done, got warmed up and concentrated, and all of the sudden, it was time to go home and I had to let go everything and go home. I am a programmer and I need long hours of concentration to get my jobs done.

Finally, I think it has fewer costs to go to work three days a week instead of five days. You have to take the bus, train, etc. for going to work. Also, there are a waste of time on transitions, the cost of eating at the office, and lots of other costs. Instead, if you do more in each time you go to work by working for longer hours, these kinda costs will be reduced so much.

I resist the temptation to explain more, hoping there is enough information already. To sum it up, as the reasons suggest, working three days a week for longer hours is better. Because not only it'll let you have more personal time, but you can do better in longer hours of work and also it costs less.