Do you agree or disagree with the following statement? Sometimes people think nowadays the media (TV, newspaper, Internet) are less concerned about the accuracy of news than in the past, and the incorrect information may cause more problem to the public.

The issue makes an arbitrary conclusion that the media (TV, newspaper, Internet) are less concerned about the accuracy of news than in the past, and the incorrect information may cause more problem to the public.

This may be true in some cases. However, the statement fails to consider that with the development of technology, especially the internet, the public have more chances to access news, analyze and discuss news, rather than the media less care about the accuracy of news. Besides, broadcasting some incorrect information is in order to protect nation’s secret or keep stability of society instead of causing more problem to the public.

Admittedly, to grab eyes of the public, some media prefer to distribute some attractive news, such as popular stars’ and politicians’ scandals. Sometimes, they might use attractive titles and exaggerated words to spread information. However, most news is based on facts.

First of all, with the development of technology, especially the internet, the public have more chances to access, analyze and discuss news, and citizens may be closer to the fact than before. In other words, in previous media might also broadcast inaccuracy information, but the public never knew the truth. I can recall days of my university, students acquired school information only by school news at the beginning. In fact, we students didn’t know whether the news provided by the school was true or not. Then Facebook, twitter and weibo began to emerge, and students could acquire, release and discuss news conveniently on internet. We students didn’t believe what the school said simply any more, rather than discuss whether the news was true and some students provided other important information to rebut or support this news. In this case, I think the media is always like that, it’s just that we have more ways to know the truth.

Besides, to protect the security of nation and keep the stability of society, the media have to broadcast information. For example, touch ID, now widely used by smart phones, has been invented decades years ago. If the media told the public this truth, military would lose its advantage. In addition, sometimes the country might suffer from economic depression. If the media broadcasted this information truly to the public, the ordinary rules of society might be damaged. Normal citizens might fall into panic, and conditions of the country might become worse.