Do you agree or disagree with the following statement : Sometimes people think nowadays the media (TV, newspaper, Internet) are less concerned about the accuracy of news than in the past, and the incorrect information may cause more problem to the public.

Dream, a concept appreciated by numerous literary figures in every phase of history, is still sought-after in current society of relatively great affluence. What makes life dreary is a want of motive, most people may contend, but is it a universally accepted idea that we should always dream big? Or is a more approachable dream a better choice? In spite of the fact that some people maintain that high expectations are keys to everything, I, personally, argue that a more realistic and achievable goal to be a desirable option.

First off, separate realistic goals lay a solid foundation for ambitious dreams in a long run. The journey of a thousand miles starts with one step, which implicitly reveals that any aspiring aim is composed of small realistic ones. Take myself as an example. As a 29-year-old female, my ultimate goal in my life is to become a writer, be it successful or less-acclaimed, since my foremost form of entertainment in my spare time is reading, and I could not help imagining myself to become a writer like Alice Munro, a Canadian female Nobel prize winner, who can depict everyday detail to its essence, or be in the shoes of Nabokov, a Russia-born American writer, who put all literary tricks under his control. However, can Rome be built in a single day? Enterprising may it seem, the goal is no easy task; what is worse, it may even be a goal that cannot be accomplished within a lifetime, as a result of which, I set more facile tasks: I can write book reports, I can write movie reviews, or I can outline scripts. Not only are these small practices less exhausting and frustrating, but also they are best means to hone my authorship abilities. As time passes by, quantitative accumulation will reach to a point where fundamental changes take place. Who can know what will happen the next day? Thus, it is not because ambitious dreams are not good in themselves, but it is attainable aims that not merely amp up/uplift your spirits but also foster your full capability.

On top of that, misinterpretation of success results in a false impression that fulfilling ambitious dreams becomes unprecedentedly easy, exposing people under more unpredictable risks. Digital age indeed affords people to access and process information with ever increasing speed, but that nearly all of us enjoy this cutting-edge merits does not necessarily meant that we will all savor its ends, only a small portion will. For example, the publishing world is teeming/flooded with books teaching people the so-called “success science”, offering people a mirage in which they can gain success overnight. In order to draw people’s eyeballs, those “success science” books tell stories about how grassroots turn to be entrepreneurs with their iron-will and perseverance/tenacity. Undeniably, strong will plays its role in the way towards accomplishment; nevertheless, a cruel truth is automatically ignored: most people can never achieve ambitious dreams because they lack the necessary background, human resources, or even visionary perspectives. Although the former two are external factors and the latter is internal, all of them are of great importance, without which it will be difficult for anyone to be deemed successful. In addition, multiple examples of failures, omitted from this kind of books, which is a routine practice to report the good but not the bad, are under water, just like the iceberg theory. If that easy, why are there only one Steve Jobs in America and one Ma Yun in China within decades? Misunderstanding of success probabilities leads to unreasonable chase of ambitious goals; hence, people had better stick to realistic objectives if they do not want to involve in failures.

In a nutshell, goals with ambition may create impossibilities, but it makes more sense for ordinary people to pursue realistic dreams for approachable ones assist people in developing abilities needed to dream big and avoiding unnecessary setbacks.