Do you agree or disagree with the following statement Teachers should not make their social or political views known to students in the classroom Use specific reasons and examples to support your answer

Knowledge is the greatest treasure one can own. It cannot be stolen by thieves, it cannot be destroyed by floods. However, knowledge can be corrupted and the only one that can do that is the teacher who give you the knowledge. In my view, the primary way to corrupt this by personal social and political views of the teacher. Therefore, I firmly believe that teacher should not state their social, political view in the classroom. In subsequent paragraphs , this will be explained in detail.

First of all, teacher should present fact objectively. If their subjective views related to politics or society get exposed during a session it might present a bias view on the subject being discussed. As responsible teachers, it is their obligation to show the both sides of the coin and let the students to decide what is best to them. For instance, when I was at the university our political science teacher was an active member of a political party and most of his teaching was influenced by his views. However, in the middle of the semester professor retired from university to participate more actively in the politics and our semester end exams were marked by a different professor who had the opposite political view. As a results most of the students got very low marks on the exam, lowest marks were related to the areas taught by the previous professor.

Another point is that, if a teacher views might not parallels with view of some students. And this might result in to develop an unpleasant feelings towards both the teacher and the subject. For example, at the high school most of my friends choose music as an elective subject and most of them had inherent talents on music. However, our music teacher most of the time lecture about her view on some problems in the society, her objective was not to influence us but to make the class more interesting by allowing little digress from monotonous subject matters. Unfortunately, some talented students , who had contrast opinions change the subject after growing unpleasant feeling towards the teacher. Some of the students were members of the school music group.

Some may argue that, it might be good to be open and honest with the students. In my opinion the best way to be honest with the students is to avoid presenting personal views on controversial matters, especially if they are related to social and political views. If you are able to present all the side an issue and let the student decide what is good for them that is the best way to be opened with the students.

To sum, without a shadow of doubt , it is my firm believe that, presenting personal social and political view in the classroom can ruin the learning experience. Most often presenting facts objectively can attract good hearts and the attentions students and parents.