Do you agree or disagree with the following statement?

Television advertising directed toward young children (aged two to five) should not be allowed.

Use specific reasons and examples to support your answer.

With the development of mass media and TV shows, advertisement becomes an efficient way to attract consumers and profit to companies. Should these commercials directly target preschool children? From my vantage point, children are vulnerable to ad content rigidly. I will explain my reasons to oppose exposing advertisements to young kids in the following paragraphs.

Advertisement by using fantasy could easily persuade children, but they couldn't induce parents in the same way, which eventually creates tension between young kids and their parents. To put it in a vivid picture, child-oriented advertisements adopt some misleading techniques, like using magic and fantasy, exaggeration, etc. As a result, as innocent, immature individuals, children easily trust tempting but harmful things for them, such as junk food, gums, and cheese balls. In light of detrimental junk food, children become subject to malnutrition. Resisting in front of children's unreasonable demands, they face constant crying or screaming kids and probably lose their temper. As we see, the ads that targeted young children, cause so many stresses for all family members, and a mother has no choice but to endure her kid's crying or his/her health.

These conflicts are not limited to health issues. Sometimes children insist on buying something they see in advertisements, incompatible with financial status. While parents try to save money for a rainy day, the youngest member of family craving for an expensive toy, and use his/her weapon, tears and cries, to persuade his/her parent to buying that. If no restrictions establish to limit child-oriented ads, the companies naturally will follow their own profits because the tensions mentioned above are not their business.

Another reason why I advocate this notion lies in the fact that children tend to emulate everything they are faced with, and Some advertisements conclude dangerous actions. For example, once, my three-year-old niece was close to jumping or flying because he was convinced that he could fly like spiderman. Thank god, in this case, my sister had arrived and prevented this from happening, but these nonsense and dangerous events are already happening on a large scale because it is hard for children to distinguish reality from fantasy. Besides, they imitate everything.

Finally, children should spend their time learning productive abilities, making friends, creating their suitable community with their peers, and playing with each other. Absorbing in television would prevent kids from mental development and will keep them aloof and isolated. Such deviation from normal development immensely impacts children's social skills.

In conclusion, I totally disagree with exposing advertisements to children because they lead to tension and conflict in the family. They endanger children, physically and mentally, and prevent them from generating their abilities.