Do you agree or disagree with the following statement? It is more enjoyable for students to read works of fiction (such as novels and stories) than nonfiction. Use specific examples and details to support your opinion.

In today's progressive and sophisticated world we live, no one can turn a blind eye to the significance of reading books. When it comes to whether it is more interesting to read fiction books or nonfiction, there are different ideas. While some people prefer to read fiction, others believe that nonfiction books are more attractive. From my vantage point, fiction books are more advantages than others. And these are my justifications.

To begin with, reading fiction book is so convenient. They are not using a complicated language, and by stories employing imagination to convey their meaning, they are easily understood, and people could read them, even when they aren't concentrated enough. Fictions are usually used a soft language to transport complex ideas. On the other hand, nonfiction books are usually challenging, hard to read, and is required to be just focused on the book, and a few amounts of distraction is enough for getting disconnected from the whole text. For example, imagine you are under stress. Although it would be hard to focus on a scientific or nonfiction book, It would not be hard to read a story that's the main character is dealing with the same problem as you. Therefore, stories due to simple language are convenient to read, even for an individual under tension.

Moreover, fiction Books have not bombarded the reader by the extent amount of information. As you know, nonfiction books try to deliver a lot of knowledge in just limited pages, making them confusing and hard to memorize. But a novel or stories usually have a main idea, and instead of giving you a lot of information, try to transfer a main belief or motif with a deeper understanding. As they are easy to remember, sometimes, we fall under their spell and carry their massage through our lives. For example, in Crime and Punishment, Dostoevski focuses best on human emotions, especially after they committed a murder. And such focus on just one subject makes them unforgettable.

Last but not least, by reading stories, whether real or not, we could hone our empathy, which helps us in our daily lives and communications. To be more specific, the characters in novels look like real humans with whom we are in a relationship. And that is surprising that sometimes it is so difficult to understand others' emotions without a common experience. Novels equip the reader with vicarious experience. This familiarity could soften our feelings and help us touch others' emotions and get along with them, even if they are different from us.

For all the reasons mentioned above, I personally find fiction more interesting than nonfiction. Because they are convenient, memorable, and familiarize me with many things that I never experienced before.